Welcome welcome to Caraval review! Today we will be discussing the summary, me gustas, not as much me gustas, and overall thoughts of Caraval by Stephanie Garber which releases on January 31, 2017. This will be spoiler free but in the future I will post another review for my detailed opinions πŸ™‚

For their whole lives, Scarlett and Tella have been trapped on an island, held by their ruthless father, who also happens to own the land. Every year since their grandmother’s stories, they have dreamed of attending Β Caraval, a game held once a year full of magics and mystics. For seven years Scarlett wrote letters to the master of the game, Legend, for an invitation, and finally he grants her wish. The sisters meet a sailor who escapes them to the show but the moment they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Legend. This year’s Caraval revolves around Tella, whoever can find her first wins for a wish of their choice to be granted.

What I loved most about Caraval was the way events and characters were all so unpredictable. I am usually good at predicting the placings of characters, what will happen next, and how it will turn but with this book, I might have guessed aroundΒ a good third of itΒ πŸ˜‚. There’s also some good romance, what made it different from other books was its darkness mixed in it. Caraval is also action packed which was why I stayed up till 2:30 in the morning finishing it and couldn’t fall back asleep :p (recommendation: read Caraval during the day).

Now it’s time for a few things I less me gustad. As a person who really likes to predict things, it was very torturous in Caraval. It wasn’t as much of the fact that there were twists that were super hard to get but the fact that the characters turned good and bad many times throughout the book. Caraval really messed with my mind too because so many bad things happened and the characters mention many times throughout the book that the game will make you see things that aren’t there, and it almost made me crazy while reading it.

Overall I would give this book 3.75/5 stars. Kind of a weird rating but it’s the only way I could express it. I feel like other people would enjoy Caraval more than me just by their different reading styles and tastes though.Β But I am definitely getting the sequel (and there is one by the way πŸ˜‰

Have a wonderful winter! *****

